NextCloud in collaboration with CloudFlare is the combination I use, among others. After switching my DNS servers to CloudFlare, I noticed that my NextCloud could still be opened in principle, but no more data was loaded.


What is the problem?

The login input fields and the button had simply disappeared. The register button as well. However, the solution was easy to implement after some research. The problem is solved by the Rocket Loader caused in CloudFlare.


What is Rocket Loader?

What is Rocket Loader? According to CloudFlare, Rocket Loader is supposed to improve the loading time of pages with JavaScript. This is precisely defined by the statement:

Rocket Loader prioritizes your site's content (text, images, fonts, etc.) by delaying the loading of all your JavaScript until after rendering.

Source: CloudFlare (self-translated)

However, in conjunction with NextCloud, this apparently breaks the entire feature.


Solution

Who does not want to do without the feature, which has the possibility in CloudFlare free of charge a so-called Page Rule to create. This can be created directly in the overview of your website configured by CloudFlare via the Page Rules tab.

NextCloud with CloudFlare Page Rules
CloudFlare Page Rules

There you create a new page rule for Cloudflare. Enter your domain or subdomain and select the Rocket Loader setting and leave the slider on Off. Save the whole thing and you have normal access to your NextCloud again! So you can use the advantages of NextCloud in connection with CloudFlare.


Conclusion

Running NextCloud with CloudFlare is not witchcraft. It only requires a small change in the CloudFlare dashboard and everything works as it should. This way, the Rocket Loader can still be used for other (sub)domains to allow for increased speed. If you have any questions, I am always available in the comments or via the contact form.

Solution Source: Nextcloud Forum

Sascha Brockel

Interested, but lack time or knowledge?

No problem. Contact me and we will discuss your requirements. No matter if business or private.

Interested, but lack time or knowledge?

No problem. Contact me and we will discuss your requirements. No matter if business or private.


0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder
You have to agree to the comment policy.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

en_US

Geschätzte Lesezeit: 9 minutes

NextCloud in Zusammenarbeit mit CloudFlare ist unter anderem die Kombination, die ich benutze. Nach dem Wechsel meiner DNS-Server zu CloudFlare ist mir ins Auge gestochen, dass sich meine NextCloud zwar noch grundsätzlich hat öffnen lassen, aber keine Daten mehr geladen wurden.


Was ist das Problem?

Die Login Eingabefelder und der Button waren einfach verschwunden. Der Registrieren Button ebenso. Die Lösung war jedoch nach einiger Recherche einfach umzusetzen. Das Problem wird durch den Rocket Loader in CloudFlare verursacht.


Was ist Rocket Loader?

Was ist denn Rocket Loader? Laut CloudFlare soll Rocket Loader die Ladezeit von Seiten mit JavaScript verbessern. Genau definiert wird dies durch die Aussage:

Rocket Loader priorisiert den Inhalt Ihrer Website (Text, Bilder, Schriftarten usw.), indem das Laden Ihres gesamten JavaScript bis nach dem Rendern verschoben wird.

Quelle: CloudFlare (selbst übersetzt)

In Verbindung mit NextCloud bricht dies aber scheinbar die gesamte Funktion.


Lösung

Wer nun aber nicht auf das Feature verzichten möchte, der hat die Möglichkeit sich in CloudFlare kostenlos eine sogenannte Page Rule zu erstellen. Diese kann direkt in der Übersicht eurer durch CloudFlare konfigurierten Website über den Tab Page Rules erstellt werden.

NextCloud mit CloudFlare Page Rules
CloudFlare Page Rules

Dort erstellt ihr dann eine neue Seitenregel für Cloudflare. Dabei gebt ihr eure Domain oder Subdomain ein und wählt die Einstellung Rocket Loader aus und belasst den Schieberegler auf Aus. Das Ganze dann noch Speichern und ihr habt wieder ganz normalen Zugriff auf eure NextCloud! So könnt ihr die Vorteile von NextCloud in Verbindung mit CloudFlare doch nutzen.


Fazit

NextCloud mit CloudFlare zu betreiben ist kein Hexenwerk. Es fordert lediglich eine kleine Änderung in dem Dashboard von CloudFlare und schon funktioniert alles wie es soll. Der Rocket Loader kann so immernoch für andere (Sub-)Domains verwendet werden, um eine erhöhte Geschwindigkeit zu ermöglichen. Bei Fragen stehe ich immer in den Kommentaren oder über das Kontaktformular zur Verfügung.

Lösungsquelle: Nextcloud Forum

Sascha Brockel

Interesse, aber Zeit oder Kenntnisse fehlen?

Kein Problem. Kontaktieren Sie mich und wir besprechen Ihre Anforderungen. Egal, ob geschäftlich oder privat.


0 Comments

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Avatar placeholder
You have to agree to the comment policy.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahren Sie mehr darüber, wie Ihre Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden .

de_DE_formal