The value of a person is measured by his competencies. In order to show you roughly what I offer, I will mention below technical competencies that make up my area of competence consisting of self-hosted services, Windows in all its facets as well as other things and also explain possible areas of application, advantages or complications.


Core Competencies

Automation

Automation

Why do repetitive or tedious tasks over and over again when you can have them done automatically? I am constantly looking into the problem of redundancy. Whether it's starting/shutting down a PC via smart home using voice control, automatically updating programs, or making backups on my own for data security.

Docker

One of the most promising technologies of our current time. It enables the isolation of applications so that complex systems can often be set up again in the shortest possible time when changing hardware. In addition, containerization offers a perfect prerequisite for scaling, load balancing & dealing with software errors.

Windows

The eternal construction Windows. Even though the operating system has gained significantly in performance over the years and has become less error-prone, many things are often still anything but self-explanatory. Starting with Windows XP, I have always configured my systems to offer maximum performance and automated maintenance. No matter if batch programming or small tricks.

Linux

Self-hosted services would be hard to imagine without Linux. Small single-board computers can become real performance servers through the operating system in combination with Docker, especially for small companies or the home network. The goal of Linux is to use as few resources as possible for things that are not needed, such as a GUI, and to offer high maintainability. This is also ideal for automation.

Nextcloud

The open source software par excellence for storing data on your own server. No matter if it's just about sharing vacation photos with the geographically separated family or an internal company intranet. Nextcloud offers many options for both home users and business users with calendars, notes, password, music or photo app, or even internal communication without a third party through Talk, a Microsoft Teams or Slack replacement included in the cloud. Check out NextCloudPi – Own cloud with ODROID N2.

Synology

Especially home users often rely on a Synology NAS system. Be it because of the easy-to-understand web interface or the multitude of ready-made options for applications like the Plex Media Server. The possibility of a Docker installation opens up countless possibilities to host important applications yourself.


Technologies & Programming Languages

Java

Probably the most popular programming language in the world. Even if it is increasingly replaced by Python, a high overall percentage of applications are based on Java. Through my experience as a software engineer I have quite a bit of experience programming with Java in business environments. The whole thing ties into the next point Spring Boot.

Spring Boot

The Spring framework in connection with Java is often used for programming web applications and for simplifying the development of enterprise Java applications in connection with best practices. An example of this is the separation of the data access layer (DAO) and data transfer (DTO).

Angular

The frequent combination of Angular on the frontend and Spring Boot or Java on the backend enables the creation of visually appealing, responsive web applications. Angular is equipped with everything to provide the user with a beautiful interface and is supported by TypeScript, HTML and CSS. Frontend and backend can thus be seamlessly separated. Again, there is experience from various projects and trainings regarding the framework.

WordPress

In the meantime, websites can be set up simply according to the modular principle. Mostly, however, functionalities for this are only available in a limited way. WordPress as a world-famous content management system (CMS) still enjoys great popularity due to its diversity. Also my website is based on WordPress. This should end any doubts that no contemporary material design views are possible for the long existing blog tool.


Experience

For one or the other it is interesting where my experiences & qualifications come from. Starting as a child, I already dealt a lot with Windows, because especially at the time of Windows XP there were still plenty of optimization possibilities in every respect and more power was very expensive.

Some knowledge such as business process modeling comes from my business informatics studies, which I acquired more deeply in self-study. Thus, due to the problem of the insignificant free storage space of 2 GB in a freely available Dropbox account, I began to look for cost-effective and secure solutions for collaborative work but also the storage and sharing of data.

This led me to the approach to do it myself and to build a server. Docker quickly revealed new possibilities and I noticed that you can host a lot of things securely yourself, which can be very helpful, especially in times of data protection laws. So I gained most of my knowledge in my spare time.

But also my work experience is not negligible, especially when it comes to programming. Through training and projects I have learned a lot about best practices in programming and can therefore also show a not insignificant portfolio of experience with programming languages.

Skills or competencies are often based on one's own experience. Since it would be too much to present all qualifications separately, here is an overview of other aspects:

  • Python
  • Batch/shell programming
  • SQL databases like MySQL or PostgreSQL
  • PHP
  • C#
  • Server setups
  • Geschäftsprozessmodellierung mit BPMN
  • UML modeling
  • Git
  • NGINX
  • Microsoft Office

Qualifications

Based on the listed skills, technologies and other qualifications you have a rough overview of things I can implement. Do not hesitate to ask. We will find solutions for your problems.

It doesn't matter whether it's setting up or automating in the smart home sector, programming applications or even setting up a company's internal network.

Sascha Brockel

Interested but lacking time or knowledge?

No problem. Contact me and we will discuss your requirements. No matter whether for business or private belongs.

en_US

Der Wert einer Person wird anhand seiner Kompetenzen gemessen. Um Ihnen grob zu zeigen, was ich alles anbiete, werde ich nachfolgend technische Kompetenzen, die meinen Kompetenzbereich bestehend aus Selfhosted Services, Windows in all seinen Facetten sowie weiteren Dingen besteht, nennen und dabei auch mögliche Einsatzbereiche, Vorteile oder Komplikationen erläutern.


Kernkompetenzen

Automatisierung

Automatisierung

Warum sollte man wiederkehrende oder lästige Aufgaben immer wieder machen, wenn man sie auch automatisch erledigen lassen kann? Dem Problem der Redundanz gehe ich stetig nach. Egal ob PC via Smart Home per Sprachsteuerung starten/herunterfahren, automatisches Updaten von Programmen oder selbständige Backups zur Datensicherheit.

Docker

Eine der vielversprechendsten Technologien unserer aktuellen Zeit. Es ermöglicht die Isolierung von Anwendungen, sodass komplexe Systeme bei einem Hardwarewechsel oftmals in kürzester Zeit wieder eingerichtet werden können. Außerdem bietet die Containerisierung eine perfekte Voraussetzung zur Skalierung, Lastverteilung & dem Umgang mit Softwarefehlern.

Windows

Die ewige Baustelle Windows. Auch wenn das Betriebssystem über die Jahre deutlich an Performanz gewonnen und an Fehleranfälligkeit abgenommen hat, sind viele Dinge oftmals noch alles andere als selbsterklärend. Angefangen bei Windows XP habe ich meine Systeme stets bis heute so konfiguriert, dass sie maximale Leistung bieten und sich automatisiert in Stand halten. Egal ob Batch-Programmierungen oder kleine Tricks.

Linux

Ohne Linux wären Selfhosted Services wohl nur schwer vorstellbar. Kleine Single-Board-Computer können durch das Betriebssystem in Verbindung mit Docker gerade für kleine Firmen oder das Heimnetz zu echten Performance-Servern werden. Ziel von Linux ist es möglichst wenig Ressourcen für nicht benötigte Dinge wie beispielsweise auch eine GUI zu beanspruchen und eine hohe Wartbarkeit zu bieten. Dies eignet sich außerdem hervorragend für Automatisierungen.

Nextcloud

Die Open-Source-Software schlechthin für die Speicherung von Daten auf einem eigenen Server. Egal ob es nur um das Teilen von Urlaubsfotos mit der geographisch getrennten Familie geht oder um ein firmeninternes Intranet. Nextcloud bietet sowohl für Privatanwender als auch Geschäftskunden vielerlei Möglichkeiten mit Kalendern, Notizen, Passwort-, Musik- oder Foto-App oder sogar interner Kommunikation ohne Drittanbieter durch Talk, einen in der Cloud enthaltenen Microsoft Teams oder Slack Ersatz. Siehe unter anderem NextCloudPi – Eigene Cloud mit ODROID N2.

Synology

Besonders Heimanwender setzen oftmals auf ein Synology NAS-System. Sei es aufgrund der gut verständlichen Weboberfläche oder der Vielzahl an vorgefertigten Möglichkeiten für Anwendungen wie dem Plex Media Server. Durch die Möglichkeit einer Docker Installation ergeben sich unzählige Möglichkeiten wichtige Anwendungen selbst zu hosten.


Technologien & Programmiersprachen

Java

Die wohl populärste Programmiersprache der Welt. Auch wenn sie zunehmend durch Python abgelöst wird, basieren ein hoher Gesamtanteil an Anwendungen auf Java. Durch meine Erfahrung als Software-Engineer habe ich einiges an Erfahrungen bei der Programmierung mit Java in Geschäftsbereichen. Das Ganze knüpft an den nächsten Punkt Spring Boot an.

Spring Boot

Das Spring-Framework in Zusammenhang mit Java wird oft für die Programmierung von Web-Anwendungen und zur Vereinfachung der Entwicklung von Enterprise-Java-Anwendungen in Verbindung mit Best Practices genutzt. Ein Beispiel dafür ist die Trennung von Datenhaltungsschicht (DAO) und Datenübertragung (DTO).

Angular

Die häufige Kombination von Angular im Frontend und Spring Boot respektive Java im Backend ermöglicht die Erstellung optisch ansprechender, responsiver Web-Anwendungen. Angular ist mit allem ausgestattet, um dem Nutzer ein schönes Interface zu bieten und wird dabei durch TypeScript, HTML und CSS unterstützt. Frontend und Backend können somit nahtlos voneinander getrennt werden. Auch hier bestehen Erfahrungen aus diversen Projekten und Schulungen bezüglich des Frameworks.

WordPress

Mittlerweile können Webseiten nach dem Baukastenprinzip simpel eingerichtet werden. Meist jedoch sind Funktionalitäten dafür aber nur beschränkt verfügbar. WordPress als weltbekanntes Content-Management-System (CMS) genießt aufgrund seiner Vielfalt immer noch große Beliebtheit. Auch meine Webseite basiert auf WordPress. Das sollte eventuelle Zweifel beenden, dass keine zeitgemäßen Material-Design Ansichten für das lang bestehende Blog-Tool möglich sind.


Erfahrungen

Für den ein oder anderen ist es interessant woher meine Erfahrungen & Qualifikationen stammen. Beginnend im Kindesalter setzte ich mich bereits viel mit Windows auseinander, da gerade zu Zeiten von Windows XP noch reichlich Optimierungsmöglichkeiten in jeglicher Hinsicht bestanden und mehr Leistung sehr teuer war.

Einige Kenntnisse wie die Geschäftsprozessmodellierung stammen aus meinem Wirtschaftsinformatikstudium, welche ich mir tiefergehend im Selbststudium angeeignet habe. So begann ich durch das Problem des geringfügigen freien Speicherplatzes von 2 GB in einem freiverfügbaren Dropbox-Account nach kostengünstigen und sicheren Lösungen für kollaboratives Arbeiten aber auch das Speichern und Teilen von Daten zu suchen.

Dies führte mich zum Ansatz es selbst zu machen und mir einen Server zu errichten. Mit Docker offenbarten sich schnell neue Möglichkeiten und ich bemerkte, dass man sehr vieles sicher selbst hosten kann, was gerade in Zeiten des Datenschutzgesetzes sehr hilfreich sein kann. Somit habe ich mir mein Wissen zum Großteil in meiner Freizeit erarbeitet.

Aber auch meine Berufserfahrungen sind gerade was Programmierung angeht nicht vernachlässigen. Durch Schulungen und Projekte habe ich viel über Best Practices in der Programmierung gelernt und kann somit auch ein nicht unerhebliches Portfolio an Erfahrungen mit Programmiersprachen vorweisen.

Fähigkeiten beziehungsweise Kompetenzen basieren oft auf den eigenen Erfahrungen. Da es zu viel wäre alle Qualifikationen gesondert vorzustellen gibt es hier noch eine Übersicht über sonstige Aspekte:

  • Python
  • Batch-/Shell-Programmierung
  • SQL-Datenbanken wie MySQL oder PostgreSQL
  • PHP
  • C#
  • Server-Einrichtungen
  • Geschäftsprozessmodellierung mit BPMN
  • UML-Modellierung
  • Git
  • NGINX
  • Microsoft Office

Qualifikationen

Anhand der aufgelisteten Kompetenzen, Technologien und sonstigen Qualifikationen haben Sie einen groben Überblick über Dinge, die ich umsetzen kann. Zögern Sie nicht zu fragen. Wir finden Lösungen für Ihre Probleme.

Dabei ist es egal, ob es um Einrichtung oder Automatisierung im Smart-Home-Bereich, Programmierung von Anwendungen oder sogar dem Aufbau eines firmeninternen Netzwerks geht.

Sascha Brockel

Interesse, aber Zeit oder Kenntnisse fehlen?

Kein Problem. Kontaktieren Sie mich und wir besprechen Ihre Anforderungen. Egal, ob geschäftlich oder privat.

de_DE_formal